Draping For Durga Puja – Something DIYed

Durga Puja is the biggest festival in my part of the world. We worship the goddess on lion killing a demon king,  for 10 days and try to wear some new clothes for this time.

IMG_0189

It may be my age, my changed taste or my brain not able to digest the blingy clothes and hideous anarkalis(which are pretty expensive as well) that I have decided to go all saree way this year. While lazily browsing through itokri ( my favourite shopping portal btw) the other day, I realized with immense joy that they have restocked the hand block print fabrics I was lusting over for a year and  ordered 3 kind for 2 meters each in no time. When the order came I realized they are too pretty to make office wear kurtas out of. With some sudden activity in my almost non existant creative brain-part I took out few meters of fabric which was waiting for two years to be turned into a maxi dress,from my stash. Few minutes of cajoling of my local old tailor, because they are already overburdened with durga puja orders(which includes almost teary me telling him how I need to wear it in a office function, to whch he replied – stop telling lies it is Sunday tomorrow, ok I will do it if you stop frying my brain) I got a saree.

photo 5 With an existing yellow boat neck blouse and some jewelry I got my look complete for a day in DurgaPuja.

photo 1Chasma & Mooch Forming The Pallu

photo 2Bright Aztec Body

photo 3A tassel earrning I got for Rs 10 in Kolkata Handicrafts Fair Adding Some Redness

photo 4A Native Amerian Inspired Necklace To Balance The Allround Indianness and to Add Some Colourful Fringe

How is your Durga Puja/Diwali plan shaping up? Let me know.

One thought on “Draping For Durga Puja – Something DIYed

Leave a Reply

