Into The Water- Review

Sorry for not being around for so long, but I always creat a new post when I feel I can do full justice to it, and the crazy schedule I was having made it impossible to write one. But all said and done am back here sharing my thoughts about one of my holiday reads.

An integrated part of my holiday ritual is sorting the to be read pile, and thank god for kindle, that I can travel with 50 books. Last week when we landed in Landour without much planning, I had the leisure to read four books simultaneously and could finish only two of them. Let me tell you how I have felt about the most hyped one.

Into The Water: Paula Hawkins

image

A single mother turns up dead at the bottom of the river that runs through town. Earlier in the summer, a vulnerable teenage girl met the same fate. They are not the first women lost to these dark waters, but their deaths disturb the river and its history, dredging up secrets long submerged.Left behind is a lonely fifteen-year-old girl. Parentless and friendless, she now finds herself in the care of her mother’s sister, a fearful stranger who has been dragged back to the place she deliberately ran from—a place to which she vowed she’d never return.

My thoughts about the book

  • It is better than Girl on the train, which was nothing less than a disaster.
  • The book has a really interesting background, sleepy British village, history of witch trial, dysfunctional families.
  • The multidimensional relationships between friends, lovers, siblings were potryed very efficiently.
  • But this book was told from 10 different point of views, yes, ten and I am sure you will not be able to differentite between most of them.
  • There was not much of mystery, the ending really really drove me mad.
  • This book tries to prove that one can be a complete idiot and still can be a detective.
  • Also atleast 100 pages of this book are sheer wastage of your time.

My Goodreads Rating 2/5, don’t say that I did not warn you.

Leave a Reply

